Forces Beyond My Control

Are we the sum of our choices?
Is fate some mysterious governing force
That we deny in our desperate
Grasping at control?
Is this story already written?

In all my years I have searched
For meaning, power and control
Understanding and peace.

As the march of time has taken me
Relentlessly
Towards oblivion
I realize I know nothing and
I have no control over what happens.
I am at the mercy
Of forces I don’t comprehend.
Knowing this hasn’t made me shrink from life
But instead has brought me,
Occasional divine moments,
An overwhelming joy and peace,
Fleeting yet utterly overwhelming.

To stop searching, seeking, wanting and waiting
Is the only answer I have found to my yearning heart.

image

Leave a Reply

