the sun rose to meet me

fat-old-sun-3

the sun rose to meet me
this morning
i felt obliged
to reciprocate

despite my woes
my pains
and my sorrows

i chose to make the date
how could i jilt
my true lover?

and, as always,
my lover met me fully
and uncompromisingly

with these words 
‘I meet you fresh
everyday
yet you come to me
with your stories.
i burn brightly
for you
yet so often
you meet me
with your light dimmed.
throw off your shackles
of past and future
and just meet me
here.
i will always
show up for you.’

i was glad
i showed up.
fat-old-sun-2 fat-old-sun

2 thoughts on “the sun rose to meet me

  1. Pingback: the sun rose to meet me – thunderboltcoach

Leave a Reply

